Wednesday, 12 July 2017

Anambra gets new REC, 9 additional Voters Reg. Centres

By Okechukwu Onuegbu

The Anambra State new Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Dr. Nkwachukwu Orji, has assumed duty, even as the State gets nine additional Continuous Voters Registration (CVR) centres across nine council areas. 
 Image result for pictures of INEC voters
The new REC, who hails from Onicha Local Government Area of Ebonyi State, was among the 14 newly appointed RECs recently approved by National Assembly. They are Prof. James Lorliam Apam, Benue indigene posted to Kogi State; Dr Nentawe Goshwe Yilwatda, Plateau posted to Benue; Umar Ibrahim from Taraba to Gombe; Ahmed Makama, Bauchi to Taraba.

Others are Ibrahim Abdullahi, from Adamawa to Bauchi; Prof Godswill Obioma, from Abia to Ebonyi; Dr Iloh Valentine Chuks, Enugu to Abia; Dr Emeka Ononamadu Joseph, Imo to Enugu; Prof Francis Chukwuemeka Ezeonu, from Anambra to Imo; Obo O. Effanga; Dr Briyi O. Frankland, Bayelsa to Cross River; and Barr Agboke Olaleke, Ogun to Ondo.

According to the release from Barr. T.O.N. Ongele, the Administrative Secretary of INEC, Anambra State chapter, Orji is a researcher and teacher with expertise in political science and development studies, and has served as Senior Research Fellow at the Institute for Development Studies (IDS), University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus, and received training and experience at universities and research institutions in Nigeria, Hungary, Germany, Switzerland, and Sweden.

The author of several books and articles on election, democratisation, conflict and peace building, holds Ph.D degree from Central European University Budapest, as well as held teaching, research, advisory, and project management positions in several institutions like University of Nigeria, German Institute of Global and Area Studies, Nordic African Institute, Policy and Legal Advocacy Centre, United National Development Programme (UNDP) and Department for International Development (DFID).

He is actively involved in several learned societies, including International Political Science Association (IPSA), Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa (CODESRIA), and African Studies Association (ASA).

Meanwhile, the INEC Anambra State newly created 9 additional Continuous Voters Registration Centres are located at Awka South, Eziekwechi Square, Amawbia III; Idemili North, Obosi Town Hall in Obosi; Onitsha North, CPS in American Quarters; Onitsha South, Tax Force (001 & 002) I Fegge VII; Orumba North, College Primary School Oko, Oko II; Nnewi North, Akamili Central Sch. Agbo, Umudim II.

Others are Njikoka, Okagbue Primary School (St. Michaels Ang. Church Premises), Nwafia II; Anambra West, Community Town Hall, Umueze-Anam II; Anambra East, Enugu Oyi primary school, Enugwu-otu. 



Etiam at libero iaculis, mollis justo non, blandit augue. Vestibulum sit amet sodales est, a lacinia ex. Suspendisse vel enim sagittis, volutpat sem eget, condimentum sem.