Thursday, 8 June 2017

Commission seeks public support to revamp Anambra State education sector

Image result for pictures of Obiano

Gloria Anaeze Onitsha
The chairman of Post Primary School Service Commission (PPSSC) in Anambra  State Mrs Joy Ulasi on Tuesday appealed to spirited individuals and corporate organisations to support the state government’s efforts in  uplift education.
Ulasi made the call when a Non-Governmental Organisation, the Onyebuchi Chris Ifediora (OCI) Foundation presented scholarship awards to 15 indigent students in Aguleri, Anambra East Local Government Area.
The foundation awarded the scholarship under its Ifedioramma Okafor Memorial Secondary School Academic (IFOMSSA) for poor students in Anambra East Local Government.
Ulasi, who commended the foundation for touching the lives of the indigent students, said “this is exactly what we need in the state because government alone cannot fund education.”
According to her,  the commission wantswwq other wealthy people, especially those in diaspora to return home to assist several intelligent but poor students, who are struggling to meet up with their educational financial obligations,
Earlier, the President and founder of OCI Foundation, Dr Onyebuchi Ifediora, a medical practitioner based in Australia, said IFOMSSA was instituted to promote education in the area.
“Our vision is one premised on the excellence of the education of the youth; I foresee a future where the youth can attain academic excellence irrespective of his or her financial background.
“We hope to support the next generation of leaders with sound educational background and leadership prospects, so that they can contribute and give back to the society later on in life.
“That is the dream of the foundation,” Ifediora, who was represented by the legal adviser of the foundation, Mr Onyechi Ononye, said.
According to him, IFOMSSA is an annual scholarship award scheme instituted in 2016 for senior and junior secondary students in memory of my late Father Mr Ifedioramma Isaac Okafor.
He disclosed that the foundation will soon begin a new scheme to support university undergraduate with scholarships yearly.
Mrs Emelda Emeka, PPSSC Zonal Director of Education, Otuocha zone, said three best students from each school sat for english, mathematics, biology and civic education examination to qualify.
“The senior IFOMSSA award is strictly for 10 public schools; 10 students were selected after sitting for the examination called IFOMSSA Challenge moderated by educators in the Post Primary School Service Commission (PPSSC), Otuocha zone.
Emeka explained that the Five winners also emerged at the junior category from Community High School, Nsugbe which was determined by their overall performance,.
Also speaking, Mrs Chinelo Okoro, Principal of Community High School, Nsugbe, described the gesture as an excellent move towards developing and encouraging brilliant students.
“Ifediora has shown eagerness to help students of the area,” she said, noting that a total of nine students benefitted from the school.
Mr Fidelis Obalim, Principal, Community Secondary School, Ifite-Umueri, said they were given N14, 000 for WAEC registration and another for NECO registration.
He urged the organisers to sustain the gesture, adding that the performance of the students showed that teachers were up and doing and hardworking.
we In separate reactions, some of the beneficiaries including Miss Rhoda Anierobi (SS3), Master Prosper Madubuko (SS3) and Miss Oluchukwu Okafor (SS3), all of Community High School, Nsugbe, commended the foundation.
The scholarship award for senior secondary schools cover refund of fees paid for the West African School Certificate Examination and National Examination Council (NECO).

On the other hand, the junior secondary school award covered refund of fees paid for Junior WAEC for 2017. 



Etiam at libero iaculis, mollis justo non, blandit augue. Vestibulum sit amet sodales est, a lacinia ex. Suspendisse vel enim sagittis, volutpat sem eget, condimentum sem.