Saturday, 1 October 2016

How Abuja Rubicon, Others winners of MTN/Kano Int’l Polo Tournament


Abuja Rubicon, Ibadan Jericho and Kaduna DeeBee Farmers, have emerged as first set of winners at the on-going MTN/Kano International Polo Tournament.
The Dantata Cup, the first major cup of the prestigious event was decided before a full house at the legendary Usman Dantata polo ground, as the resilient Abuja Rubicon team won the gold, defeating six other opponents.

The Abuja Boys, powered by the Minister of Aviation, Senator Hadi Sirika, were clearly the stars of the tournament, as they added the Ado Bayero Cup played in honour of the immediate past Emir of Kano, His Royal Highness, Alhaji Ado Bayero, to their trophy haul.

Before clinching the royal crown, the Abuja Rubicon team, made up of the quartet of Lado Aliyu, Idris Badamasi, Malik Badamasi and Jamilu Mohammed, had put themselves in pole position after overcoming tournament favourites, Kano Titan, 412-3 in their opening game of the Dantata Cup cracker before facing defending champions, Lagos Marina in the final.

While Rubicon easily eased past the Lagosians 9-1 for their double titles win, Bashir Dantata, the legendary Chairman of Kano Polo pivoted his Kano Dantek squad to a runner’s up finish after out placing Kaduna EMC side 8-61/2 in the Dantata Cup series. Ibadan Jericho gave the South-west contingent plenty to celebrate as they clinched a sensational MRS Cup victory by defeating home boys, Kano Triple K.



Etiam at libero iaculis, mollis justo non, blandit augue. Vestibulum sit amet sodales est, a lacinia ex. Suspendisse vel enim sagittis, volutpat sem eget, condimentum sem.