Friday, 19 February 2016

Return Home, Our House is on Fire—Anambra PDP Members Charged Sacked NASS Members

By Okechukwu Onuegbu

Following the Supreme Court judgment which reportedly sacked Ken Emeakayi led Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) executives in Anambra and restored Ejike Oguebego as its authentic party Chairman, members of the party under the aegis of PDP Likeminds has appealed to their members at the National Assembly to return home to restructure the party amidst its internal wrangling.

The PDP likeminds, who lamented that none of the embattled NASS members elected under Emeakayi faction including Senator Andy Uba and Senator Stella Oduah of Anambra South and Anambra North, as well as House of Representatives members such as Chukwuma Onyema, Eucharia Azodo, Chris Azubogu, Obinna Chidoka, Sopuluchukwu Ezeonwuka, Lynda Ikpeazu, Anayo Nnebe, Emeka Anohu and Tony Nwoye, returned home to address them “the grassroot mobilisers” on how to chat new course for the party.

Speaking at the end of their meeting at King’s David Hotel, Awka, Chairman of the group, Chief Jude Osude, who doubles as Assistant Chairman (Anambra South) of the party under Ken Emeakayi leadership, however maintained that Emeakayi remained the State Chairman of PDP because according to him, the later tenure the Supreme Court ruled against has expired, even as another congress was conducted where he equally emerged victorious.

Osude said: “We are here to decide the fate of our party. The intention of likeminds is to move PDP forward. We are not happy that the crash of interest has constantly denied us Anambra State Government House, some House of Assembly seats and Local Government Councils seats. We want to put an end to this anomaly. PDP is back again. We are calling on our members at NASS to come and join us to restructure the party. We are the grassroot politicians.

“Prince Emeakayi remained the state Chairman of our party. The Supreme Court did not say we cannot move forward. Although its judgment has not being properly interpreted, we know that judgment came after the tenure of Emeakayi as PDP state chairman has expired, and another congress conducted where he was equally re-elected. So the leadership of the party is an internal affair of the party, which they have done for conducting another election. Ours now is to come back home; speak in one voice, clinch victory and continue on our good works as we did during the tenure of Mbadinuju, Ngige, etc”.

On what becomes the fate of the party sequel to its reportedly disqualification to participate on the forthcoming Anambra Central Senatorial Re-run, Osude said that court would decide because they have gone ahead to submit their preferred candidate to INEC, who did not only accepted the list in good fate but acknowledged Emeakayi as its State Chairman.

Orient Daily recalled that PDP Emeakayi faction allegedly submitted the name of Anambra State former Governor, Chief Peter Obi as its candidate for Anambra Central poll despite that going by the Supreme Court judgment, Oguebego’s produced candidate, Senator Annie Okonwo shall become the party’s candidate.

Earlier speaking, Chief Hon BC Okoye, the state Auditor of PDP, said they would continue to be loyal to Emeakayi leadership of the party because “somebody can never ever wake up from the comfort of his bedroom and said that everybody in PDP Anambra must go right or left? We are not stooges any longer. We have the right to say no. Court can never settle family or umunna dispute unless they agreed. The supreme court judgment has not be interpreted and it has never said anything about tenure”.

Those battling to unseat the lawmakers at National Assembly Members following the Supreme Court Judgment have being Chief Chris Uba, Senator Annie Okonkwo, and Prince Chinedu Emeka Oguebego’s faction produced senatorial candidates for Anambra South, Anambra Central, and Anambra North, as well as Hon. Charles Odedo for Idemili North and South Federal Constituency and Emma Nweke for Awka North and South Federal Constituency, Tony Offiah, Hon. Julius Oforma, Hon. Ifenyinwa Anazonwu, Hon. Benny Obaze, Hon. Uche Obi, and Hon. Ejike Nwene.



Etiam at libero iaculis, mollis justo non, blandit augue. Vestibulum sit amet sodales est, a lacinia ex. Suspendisse vel enim sagittis, volutpat sem eget, condimentum sem.