Sunday, 22 November 2015

INEC Declares Kogi Guber Inconclusive, cancelled over 49,000 votes

Kogi governorship election The Independent National Electoral Commission  (INEC) has declared the Kogi State governorship election inconclusive.

Declaring the results of the election, the electoral body said its decision was reached after collation of results that showed a number of cancelled votes that was high than the margin between the leading candidate and the runner-up.
After the 21 local councils’ election results were collated on Sunday, the All Progressives Congress’ candidate, Abubakar Audu, was leading while the incumbent Governor, Captain Idris Wada of the Peoples Democratic trailed by a margin less than the number of cancelled votes.
INEC returning officer further said it would conduct a supplementary election in the state to decide the winner of the election.
The Kogi governorship election is the first election that the new leadership of the INEC is conducting.
It is also the first election under the administration of President Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress, after the ruling party won the March 28 Presidential election, taking power from the Peoples Democratic Party that had ruled the nation for 16 years.
Earlier, observers monitoring the governorship election in Kogi State called on political parties to ensure their supporters and members remain calm as collation of election results continue in Kogi State.
A human rights lawyer, Onyeisi Chiemeka, also told Channels Television that the polls appeared to have been free and fair although there were some challenges recorded by INEC especially with logistics.

Meanwhile, If INEC should declare the governorship candidate of All Progressive Congress, Prince Abubakar Audu a winner of the incumbent governor, and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP),Captain Idris. Wada, it would be the third coming of Audu as governor as he was elected governor in 1992- 1993 and 1999- 2003. His bids to come back in four other attempts under the All Nigeria Peoples Party and the Action Congress of Nigeria proved abortive as the PDP trounced him in those elections.

He won 16 of the 21 local government areas of the state leaving Wada with a pantry of five local government areas.
The 16 local government where Audu won are; Kabba/bunu,Ankpa, Olamaboro, Bassa, Ibaji, Lokoja, Okehi, Ajaokuta, Adavi,Kotonkarfi,Ijumu, Yagba west, Yagba East, Idah, Ofu and Igalamela/odolu while the PDP won in Mopamuro, Omala, Dekina,Okene and Ogori mangogo Local government areas.
The APC tsunami swept through the traditional strong hold of the PDP such as Kabba-Bunu, Yagba East, Yagba West, Bassa, Lokoja, Ajaokuta, Idah and Igalamela/Odolu Local government areas of the state where the PDP had heavily relied on.
However, the Independent National Electoral Commission, cancelled over 49,000 votes where the card reader machines were not used. Out of these votes 17,000 were from Dekina local government area, where Governor Idris Wada hailed from.



Etiam at libero iaculis, mollis justo non, blandit augue. Vestibulum sit amet sodales est, a lacinia ex. Suspendisse vel enim sagittis, volutpat sem eget, condimentum sem.