Friday, 3 April 2015

Anambra State House of Assembly Poll: APGA, PDP, APC On The Move

By News48hrs.Com
On April 11th State Governors and Assembly’s polls will take place. Anambra would be a sort of theater for political juggernauts to play their chess.  
Governor Willie Obiano had during his broadcast to the state insisted it would not be business as usual. He insisted the Houses of Assembly election should nto be toyed with as his party APGA where he is a BOT Chairman will not leave anything to chances.
The battle is between the ruling All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)  ,Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and All Progressive Congress (APC), who recently won the presidential poll.
APGA was not happy that PDP allegedly manipulated the results it won and is now battle ready to ensure such thing never repeat itself.
As a result, the State Governor, Chief Willie Obiano; the National Chairman of the party, Chief Victor Umeh; the State Commissioner of Information, Culture and Tourism, Chief Tony Onyima; and all the candidates that participated in the said election under APGA, addressed separate press conferences condemning the outcome of the national assembly elections, even as the party hold series of meetings and campaign with stakeholders with a view to forestalling failure at the election.
 Anambra State has 30 House of Assembly seats; but as 20 of the serving lawmakers struggle to retain their positions, 5 were denied tickets by their political parties via primary elections and court injunctions as well; while 4 others contested for the Saturday March 28 Federal House of Representative poll.
The state legislators on the race for re-election can they make it or would they give way for rampaging APC or struggling PDP in the state? The outcome of the lection determines the fate of Governor Willie Obiano and that of APGA as a political party. Should Obiano not grab the lawmakers for APGA then the party is dead as predicted by Hon Afam Ogene that the party is dead long time.
Ogene may be talking from the point of view of an aggrieved but should , APGA not clinch the election , then truly APGA is bygone and Governor Obiano may dump APGA for APC as now speculated.
Those gunning to return include Hon. Umeh Ikechukwu (Aguata1-APGA); Hon. Ikem Uzoezie (Aguata 2-APGA); Hon. Benson Nwawulu of Ogbaru 1 (APGA); Hon. Kingsley Iruba and Hon. Rita Maduagwu of Nnewi South 1 and Nnewi South2 are respectively from APGA.
Others on the Assembly poll are Hon. Paulinus Onyeka of Ekwusigo (APGA); Hon. John Olibie of Dunukofia (PDP); Hon. Chugbo Enwezor of Onitsha North 1 (APGA); while Onitsha South 1 has Hon. Dr. Emeka Anaebonam (APC); even as Onistha South 2 has Hon. Beverly Nkemdiche Ikpeazu of APGA.
Also, other sitting lawmakers seeking for second tenure are Hon. Romanus Ugochukwu of Orumba North (APGA); Orumba South, Hon. Nkiru Nikky Ugochukwu (APGA); Hon. Okadigbo (APGA) for Oyi; Idemili-North, Hon. Tony-Oneweek Mournagor of APC; Idemili South, Hon. Ebele Obi of APC; Hon. Victor Jideofor Okoye for Anambra West (APGA); Hon. Obinna Emenaka of APGA for Anambra East; Engr. Kenechukwu Chukwuemeka of APC in Awka South 1; Hon. Harford Ikechukwu Oseke of Awka 2.
On the other hand, Hon. Chukwudi Orizu, the Deputy Speaker of the Hallow Chamber and representative of Nnewi North; Hon. Ebele Ejiofor, of Anaocha 1 State Constituency and his counterparts from Anaocha 2, Hon. Anslem Dunu (both APGA sitting lawmakers) were denied tickets to fulfill the alleged zoning arrangement in their various constituencies; while Hon. Rebecca Udorji of Awka-North; and Hon. Modestus Ohazulike of Ihiala 2 lost their tickets in PDP (Ejike Oguebego led faction) sequel to court action which recently replaced their names with candidates of the party loyal to Hon. Ken. Emekayi faction.
Similarly, the 5 State Legislators, who tested their popularity on the National Assembly election; were Hon. Emeka Anohu of Ihiala 1 State Constituency (PDP), now PDP-House of Representative-Elect for Ihiala Federal Constituency; Hon. Clare Chinwe Nwaebili, the outgoing Speaker of the state House of Assembly, representative Ogbaru 1 under APGA, but lost her bid to represent Ogbaru Federal House of Representative via APGA; and Hon. Emeka Iduu of Onitsha North 2 State constituency (PDP) and winner for Onitsha North/South Federal Constituency at Federal House of Representative via same political platform.
Others include Hon. Godwin Onyewife of Ayemelum state constituency who came to the hallow chamber through PDP, but recently decamped to APGA to vie for Oyi/Ayemelum Federal Constituency which he lost out to his PDP counterpart; and Hon. Valentine Ayika of Njikoka 1 State Constituency, whose PDP-Faction loyal to Ejike Oguebego Factional Chairman had his name sub-changed to the current winner of Anaocha/Njikoka/Dunukofia Federal Constituency, Dr. Okey Eze, a faithful of Hon. Ken Emekaiye faction.
But the die is cast indeed as he outcome of the election mars or makes APGA and the political dynasty of Obiano against  former Governor Peter Obi. And only time will tell?



Etiam at libero iaculis, mollis justo non, blandit augue. Vestibulum sit amet sodales est, a lacinia ex. Suspendisse vel enim sagittis, volutpat sem eget, condimentum sem.